Guiding the Space After "Yes"

Reflecting on both of the interactions so far, with John and Ellen, I can see that there is some stumbling getting into the actual eye contact session itself.

The stumbling occurs after I ask the participant if they'll participate in the experiment. They say "yes" then I sit down and there is a space in which I do not direct the interaction, and they fill this space with words, usually a question for me. This gets us talking instead of making eye contact.

I am going to work with this space. Here's the change:

They say "yes." Now I sit down and say:

"Great! Here's how it works. We're going to sit across from each other and make eye contact for 60 seconds with no interruptions. I have a timer. We'll begin when I start the timer. After 60 seconds the timer will beep, and we'll be done. Once we start, let's avoid speaking and looking away from each other. Just focus on looking at the other person's eyes."

Now that they know more about what they've said "yes" to, let's confirm their consent again. This is important based on my interaction with Ellen, who initially consented, and then withdrew consent after learning more about the parameters.

"Now that you know the parameters, are you still willing to give it a try? Do you have any questions?"

With this change to the script, I am now providing guidance through the space after the initial "yes" and laying the structure of the experiment out in front of them before we do it, in a clearly explained manner, so they know the details of what they're consenting to, and confirming their willingness to participate.

This should help avoid a few things:

1. Getting bogged down in conversation before making eye contact. There's plenty of time for talking afterwards.

2. Talking during the eye contact phase. People do this in part because they're nervous, and because the experiment start/end markers aren't clearly defined.

The reality is that everything is the experiment: the eye contact, the before/after interaction, the time leading up to our meeting and the time following our parting. It's just easier to start by explaining the experiment as the eye contact period, get that done, and then expound on the ideas and motivations driving the activity after the eye contact has been made.

By taking the initiative during the space after the first "yes" I believe I can make the structure of the experiment clearer to the participant, confirm their consent after they know all the parameters, and create a higher quality eye contact experience.