Day 11: Mark

This afternoon I'm at the beach, and I figure this is a good place to make some eye contact.

As I am walking along the water I notice a fellow sitting on the ground, his back against a log, facing the ocean.

I walk back towards him, step up on a log, and make a small jump down.

What follows is the most succinct non-rejection so far:

Me: Hi.

Pause. He looks up from his writing.

Me: I'm doing an experiment. Every day I ask a stranger to make eye contact with me for 60 seconds. Is this something you'd be willing to do with me?

Mark: OK.

Me: Here's how it works. I have this timer set for 60 seconds. When I start it, we'll make eye contact, not look away, and not talk. Still willing to do it?

Mark: Sure.

Me: OK. Let's start.

I sit down and start the timer. We commence eye contact.

I feel relaxed and at ease. He is really focused. He seems relaxed, too, yet... Protective. I am not sure. He's a willing participant for sure, and present, but I don't know what's going on with him. He doesn't seem enthusiastic, yet he consented. I cannot tell what's in his eyes, in his mind, in his heart. Preoccupation? Worry? Sadness? I can't read him.

The timer beeps.

Me: That's it. I'm Josh.

Mark: Mark.

We shake hands.

Me: I'm going to give you a leave-behind. I write about my experiences on this blog.

I hand him a scrap of paper with the URL written on it.

Me: The last thing I ask participants is if I may use their first name and photograph on my blog. Is that OK with you?

Mark: Sure.

Me: Here we go.

I take his picture.

Me: Look OK?

I show it to him.

Mark: Sure.

Me: Cool. Anything else before I disappear?

Mark: No.

He seems amused, but remains serious.

Me: OK. Great day. Be well.

I hop back over the log and walk down the beach.