End of Season 1

Yesterday was Day 30, the last day, of Let's Make Eye Contact.


The initial experiment is over. Let's look at some stats:


Days Elapsed: 30

Days Skipped: 2 (i.e. days on which I did not approach anyone)

Bonus Days: 3 (i.e. days on which I approached multiple people)

People Approached: 31

Daytime Approaches: 17

Dusk Approaches: 5

Night Approaches: 9

Indoor Approaches: 19

Outdoor Approaches: 12

I approached people in bars, restaurants/cafes/diners, coffee shops, on a ferry, on the street/sidewalk, at the beach/waterfront, at the climbing gym, in my house, and in my office.

All approaches were done in Victoria BC (25), on a boat (1), and in Portland (5).

I was rejected by 4 people.

I made eye contact with 27 people.

I made eye contact with 2 people (Brittany, Lindsey) who were not a strangers. I did not write about these encounters on the blog.

I also made eye contact with 1 stuffed animal.

1 participant started his own eye contact experiment and is blogging about it.

So far I have met up again with 3 participants (Jeff, Bronwyn, and Srid) after our initial meeting through this experiment.


I'm taking the weekend off. Season 2 will begin on Monday.

2 responses
I've greatly enjoyed season 1! You may not remember me from Office Nomads as we didn't have much interaction, but I've been following along ever since the blog URL was sent out to the cotivation email list. Looking forward to season 2!
Hey Bobby! I'm glad you're enjoying it - thanks for letting me know! I'm looking forward to interacting more when I'm back at Office Nomads.