Day 34: Raven

I waited until the end of the day again.

Since I did not make eye contact with anyone during the workday, did not have time for eye contact at the climbing gym, and following that I went home and then straight to the HUMP screening (for which we arrived just in time) with my friends, I was running out of opportunities.

After the screening we walked into a bar, my friends went to the restroom, and I went to order a drink. The woman next to me made eye contact with me, and I jumped on the opportunity and asked her to participate in the experiment.

She agreed. We began. She laughed, like, the whole time.

Afterwards I introduced myself and she told me her name: Raven.

I asked if I can take her picture. She said "no" and asked if she can give me a picture to use. I said "yes." (This is a first.)

She emailed me a picture. This is what she sent:

Raven is on the left. On the right is her sister, Jordan, who was also at the bar.

I talked with Raven a bit. Then Jordan came over and I chatted with her. I dunno why, but Jordan and I didn't get along. Maybe it was because she was drunk. Maybe our personalities just didn't match. The conversation went in a direction I didn't like and I left the sisters and rejoined my friends. Later I said "bye" to Raven as I left the bar.

...

That wasn't really a nice experience. Looking back, I'm not sure I got along very well with either of them. Maybe they were just pulling my leg, maybe it was their way of having fun, but it felt like they were actually teasing me at one point. Seriously?

It's OK, though, because I asked someone in a sports bar who was definitely intoxicated to make eye contact and it was my first time to do that. I'm glad I did it. If what I'm looking for is to make a nice connection, however, this probably wasn't the place or the people with whom to pursue it.