Day 24: Asha

I partied last night, so today I wake up late. Since then I've been out doing errands and stuff all day, and haven't made a moment to make eye contact someone.

It's nighttime now and Kasi and I are driving home. I know we have dinner guests coming over tonight who I have never met, so I decide that I'll walk into the house and immediately approach one of them and ask them to make eye contact with me.

I walk through the backdoor into the kitchen and see our guests. The guy guest is busy making a pizza and the girl guest seems unoccupied, so I put down my things and walk right up to her.

"Hi, will you make eye contact with me for 60 seconds?"

"Yes!" she says, smiling.

"Great," I reply, also with a smile.

I lead her into the living room and we sit on the couch. I explain the rules and we begin.

Her gaze is warm and inviting. I feel very relaxed with her and I sense that she is relaxed with me, too. Quickly I fall into a comfortable space with her. Around halfway she smiles, then laughs, and I do the same.

When the timer beeps I give her a leave-behind and explain the project. I learn that her name is Asha and she enthusiastically allows me to use her photo for this post.

We hug and return to the kitchen for an evening of pizza making and shenanigans.